The Youngstown University



GROUNDBREAKING CEREMONY

for the

SCIENCE and ENGINEERING BUILDING

Tuesday, March 8, 1966 at 11:00 A.M.

SPECIAL GUESTS

State Officials

James A. Rhodes, Governor
James D. Millett, Chancellor, Ohio Board of Regents
John Marshall Briley, Chairman, Ohio Board of Regents
Robert F. Doolittle, Ohio Board of Regents
Richard L. Krabach, State Director of Finance
Charles J. Carney, State Senator
Thomas P. Gilmartin, State Senator
George D. Tablack, State Representative
James R. Panno, State Representative
William J. Carney, State Representative

City Officials

Anthony B. Flask, Mayor, City of Youngstown Joseph E. O'Neill, President of Council, City of Youngstown

Council Members:

John S. Franken
Herman P. Starks
James A. Pastore
Corry Dama
Jack C. Hunter
John V. McCarthy
John P. Knapp

Anthony Ma, City Planning Director David M. Hill, Urban Redevelopment Director Harry Meshel, Administrative Assistant to the Mayor

Architects and Engineers

Hubbell and Benes and Hoff, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio

Contractors

Joseph Bucheit & Sons Co., General Contractors Scholl-Choffin Co., Plumbing, Heating, Air Conditioning Lake Eric Electric Co., Lorain, Ohio, Electrical Work

About the building -

The groundbreaking today represents another significant achievement for higher education in the State of Ohio. Funds for the construction of this facility were made possible largely through the efforts of Governor James A. Rhodes, who proposed the 250 million dollar bond issue that was approved by the voters in November, 1963. The land on which the building will stand was acquired through the Urban Renewal Program of the City of Youngstown. The building will be owned by the State of Ohio and leased to the University for a fifty-year period with option to renew the lease for another fifty years. It is dedicated to the development of engineering education and scientific research.

PROGRAM

MUSIC:

The Youngstown University Concert Band Star-Spangled Banner, R.O.T.C. Color Guard

Charles G. Watson, chairman of the board of trustees of the university - will introduce Pres. Jones SPEAKERS: - Dr. Jones will introduce James A. Rhodes; Governor, State of Ohio John D. Millett; Chancellor, Ohio Board of Regents Anthony B. Flask; Mayor, City of Youngstown



GROUNDBREAKING:

James A. Rhodes; Governor, State of Ohio Howard W. Jones; President, Youngstown University



MUSIC:

The Youngstown University Concert Band



Acknowledgment
Ushering and Decorations:
Courtesy of the Circle K Service Fraternity

YOUNGSTOWN UNIVERSITY

BOARD of TRUSTEES

Charles G. Watson, Chairman

James L. Beeghly

Walter Bender

William E. Bliss

William J. Brown

Jay C. Brownlee

Joseph G. Butler III

Sidney J. Collins

Charles B. Cushwa, Jr.

Anthony B. Flask

Oscar F. Gayton

John H. Graft

A. S. Glossbrenner

The Rev. Glenn W. Holdbrook

Arthur L. Jones

Mrs. W. H. Kilcawley

Fred B. King, Jr.

Richard L. Krabach

William F. Maag, Jr.

J. Lester Mauthe

John N. McCann

J. Russell McKay

John M. Newman

John Palermo

J. Ross Philips, Jr.

William B. Pollock II

Mrs. Frank Purnell

William Haig Ramage

Carl C. Rigsby

Henry A. Roemer

William J. Sampson, Jr.

Clarence J. Strouss, Jr.

Carl W. Ullman

Ambrose J. Wardle, Jr.

Raymond J. Wean

James L. Wick, Jr.