MINUTES UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING October 7, 1966

PRESENT: President Pugsley, Dean Smith, Dean Gillespie, Dean Roberts, Dean Painter, Dean Dykema, Dean Swartz, Dean Miller, Dean Aurand, M. B. Smith, G. H. G. Jones, D. Behen, P. Botty, I. Boyer, J. Cernica, M. Chrisp, N. Dehnbostel, F. D'Isa, F. Ellis, I. Feldmiller, E. J. P. Fisher, C. Harris, D. Ives, P. Luginbill, E. Mackall, B. Yozwiak, W. Mayer, J. Naberezny, W. Powers, B. Riley, E. D. Scudder, W. Shipman, D. Teodorescu, M. Turner, Col. J. Wales, W. Young, W. Baker, C. Bridgham, I. Cohen, H. Crites, R. Dehnbostel, T. Dillon, L. S. Domonkos, H. Earnhart, J. D. Foster, T. Gay, P. Hahn, C. Hankey, J. Kelty, J. Kiriazis, G. Mavrigian, W. Nelson, M. Pfau, R. Scollen, L. Spiegel, E. Sterenberg, P. Van Zandt, P. Von Ostwalden, I. Worley, P. Chuey, E. M. Evans, V. Jenkins, C. Painter, J. Powell, E. Reilly, J. Goncz, R. McNamee, J. Petrek, S. Skarote, M. Solomon, F. Tarantine, M. Solak, J. Walter, A. Matzye for M. Klasovsky, R. J. Sorokach.

Dr. Pugsley called the meeting to order. He stated that he has been made to feel welcome in Youngstown and expressed his pleasure in being here.

The chairman called for additions or corrections to the minutes of the May meeting. There being none, the minutes were approved as mailed to the faculty at that time.

Membership Election Tie

Dr. Pugsley called to the attention of the Senate the fact that last May's election of Senate members resulted in a tie for representation from the School of Business Administration and the School of Education. There is no provision in the bylaws for resolving this situation.

Dean Dykema moved, seconded by Dean Miller, that the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws be authorized to make a final decision regarding this situation in order that the members involved can take their place at the next meeting. This committee is also asked to recommend a bylaw amendment to handle future cases of this type. The motion was approved.

Nominations for Committee on Constitution and Bylaws

The following ten nominations were made for the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws as required by the bylaws.

David Behen Catherine Bridgham Irwin Cohen Philip Hahn David Ives

George Jones Gus Mavrigian William Nelson William Powers Elizabeth Sterenberg

Election of the five members of the committee will be by mail ballot to the members of the Senate.

Curriculum Committee

Dean Smith reported that the Curriculum Committee has been meeting. Most of the discussions have centered around the change to the quarter system. There have been no official decisions made to report to the senate at this time.

Quarter System

Dr. Pugsley discussed the change-over to the quarter system which will take place in the fall of 1967. The State Board of Regents has established the policy that all state institutions will convert to the quarter system at that time. As a petitioning institution, Youngstown University is therefore making the effort required to change also.

A letter was read from Dr. Millett, Chancellor of the Board of Regents, stating the reasons for adopting a common calendar for all state schools. The letter cited some criticisms of the change to the quarter system and answered these criticisms.

Dr. Pugsley then opened the meeting to questions regarding the changes to be made.

Letter to Faculty and Staff

In order to familiarize himself with the organization and to eliminate duplication of responsibilities, Dr. Pugsley announced his intention of sending a letter to the members of the faculty and staff asking them to list their duties and responsibilities as they see them.

Schedules for Second Semester

Mrs. Smith reminded the department heads that schedules for second semester are past due and should be turned in immediately.

Respectfully submitted.

Joann Powell, Secretary

The next meeting of the Senate will be held on November 11, at 4 p.m.

SENATE MEETING ATTENDANCE October 7, 1966 Carl Jarris fr of Estate my En Olyde a. Painter Edeth G. Painter Walter & mayer Pauline E Bour James W. Koriazis K. S. 202 An A. Mellie (3' D) h ach Dened toster my for when F. Walter navin W. Chrisp Van Sant Ruggthehm Leonard B Spiegel Washipman G. MAVRIGIAN L.S. Domonkos mae Jurner Druce J. Sile Calderine M. Bridgham Ilapan Fldmile Behen William L. Vours Harold Orites In Walere ms Marilyn Solak Had Dellan Emily markace Sur Boffer " Matye for M.K Casousky Hear M. Kelty Mank Ellis Solet D. 71/6 Themse Momas bas Lobert glow kach letycle Hankey W. G. Millon An & Petrele Goseph F. Lovey Samuel & Skarote Ftrank Tarantine Frank UN ba a Wishen Laboth Stern Mura Dichal Solomon July & Frankl From Ostroalden Waren Young

Bernard & Yozwiak Gnicelen, Tera Jenkine 6. MARIE EUIVS 2. Teodoreseu Havid 5 Ives Mary Sout Harl W. Dypema S. a. Roberto

To: University Senate Members

From: Joann Powell, Secretary of the Senate

The first meeting of the University Senate for the 1966-67 school year will be held on Friday, October 7, at 4 p.m. in the Audio-Visual Room of the Library.

At this meeting nominations will be made for members of the Senate Committee on the Constitution and Bylaws. "This committee shall have five members, elected by closed ballot from at least ten nominations made at the first fall meeting of the Senate."

Also to be discussed at this meeting is a method of breaking ties that resulted in the balloting last spring for Senate membership.