May 11, 1972

TO: UNIVERSITY SENATE MEMBERS

FROM: VERA JENKINS

Secretary of the Senate

ADJOURNED SENATE MEETING: Friday, May 19, 1972 - 4:00 p.m. in the SCHWEBEL AUDITORIUM - ENG. SCI.BLDG. (Room 273)

AGENDA: (CONTINUED FROM FRIDAY, MAY 5)

- e) Faculty Affairs Committee (continuation) Christine Dykema
- f) Health and Safety Committee (Margaret Connelly)
- g) Library Committee (Christopher Sweeney)
- h) Student Academic Guidance and Registration Committee (E. Mark Evans)
- i) Ad Hoc Committee on Pass-Fail (Matthew Siman)
- j) Computer Committee (Lauren Schroeder)
- k) University Research Council (Karl Krill)
- 6) UNFINISHED BUSINESS
- 7) NEW BUSINESS
- 8) REMARKS BY PRESIDENT PUGSLEY

May 11, 1972

TO: UNIVERSITY SENATE MEMBERS

FROM: VERA JENKINS

Secretary of the Senate

ADJOURNED SENATE MEETING: Friday, May 19, 1972 - 4:00 p.m. in the SCHWEBEL AUDITORIUM - ENG. SCI.BLDG. (Room 273)

AGENDA: (CONTINUED FROM FRIDAY, MAY 5)

- e) Faculty Affairs Committee (Continuation) Christine Dykema
- f) Health and Safety Committee (Margaret Connelly)
- g) Library Committee (Christopher Sweency)
- h) Student Academic Guidance and Registration Committee (E. Mark Evans)
- i) Ad Hoc Committee on Pass-Fail (Matthew Siman)
- j) Computer Committee (Lauren Schroeder)
- k) University Research Council (Karl Krill)
- 6) UNFINISHED BUSINESS
- 7) NEW BUSINESS

1

8) REMARKS BY PRESIDENT PUGSLEY

SENATE MEMBERS-YOUNGSTOWN STATE UNIVERSITY

FLECTED MEMBERS

COILEGE OF ARIS A	ND SCIENCES	SCHL.BUS. ADMIN.	STUDENT ROS	IER
Everette Abram	Raymond Hurd	A. Ranger Curran	Rosalyn Canna	atti
David Behen	David Ives	E. Terry Deiderick	Skip Davis	
Frederick Blue	Joseph Koss	Frank A. Fortunato	Bruce Katz	
Alfred Bright	Leon Laitman	Donald Hovey	Ron Kessler	
Mary A, Budge	James Lepore	Vera Jerkins	James Larene	
Irwin Cohen	Joseph May	Casper Moore, Jr,	Deborah Mead	
Thaddeus Dillon	Thelma Miner	William Petrych	Thomas Montgo	omery
Leslie Domonkos	Ward Miner	Raymond Shuster	Jerome Parm	
Christine Dykema	Robert Morris	(8)	Gilbert Rond	У
Larry Esterly	Esther Niemi		Tom Salpietra	a.
Elmer Foldvary	Daniel O'Neill	SCHL OF ENGINEERING	Nary Saulino	
Thomas Gay	Sidney Roberts	Richard Jones	Lar y Simko	
Philip J. Hahn	Lowell Satre	Edwin Pejack	Charles Tosk	as
Clyde Hankey	Thomas A, Shipka	Arthur Perkins	(13)	
Stephen Hanzely	Morris Slavin	Matthew Siman		
Robert R. Hare	Leonard Spiegel	Frank Tarantine		
Joel Henkel	Eliz ■ Sterenberg	(5)		
Leoaore Hoffman	Peter von Ostwalden	T & CC		
Sally Hotchkisc	John S. Zetts	Wm. O. Barsch		
	(38)	James DeGarmo	FIRCTED TOTAL:	62.
SCHOOL OF MUSIC	SCHOOL OF EDUCATION		EX-OFFICIO:	62 62
Donald Byo	Peter A. Baldino, Jr.			124
Ronald Gould	James Betres	John P. Terlecki	STUDENTS:	_13_
C. Wade Raridon	Charles Bronstrup	(5)	(Maximum 14)	137
(3)	(3)		·	

President Pugsley Vice Pres, E.E. Edgar Vice Yres. Coffelt Vice Pres. Rook Dean Karl Krill Dean B. J. Yozwiak Dean R. L. Miller Dean D. W. Robinson Dean M. Charignon Dean Chas. Aurand Dean N. Paraska Dean Darrell Rishel Assoc. Dean E. Painter Dean James Scriven Winston Eshleman Ronald Jonas George Jones Geo. Letchworth William Livosky Mary B Smith Philip A. Snyder

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS Shaffiq Ahmed George Almond Ivis Boyer John Cernica Marvin Chrisp Gilda DeCapita Frank D'Isa Hugh Earnhart Frank Ellis Donald Elser Ilajean Feldmiller Robert J. Fisher William S. Flad Marguerite Foley Jack Foster Martin A. Greenman C. Earl Harris, Jr. Louis Hill M. Dean Hoops Sanford Hotchkiss Geo. W. Kelley, Jr.

James Kiriazis Michael Klasovsky Raymond Kramer Lawrence Looby Emily Mackall Richard Magner Gus Mravrigian Jon Naberezny Clyde A. Painter Margaret Pfau Leon Rand Victor A. Richley Lewis Ringer T. K. Slawecki Robert Sorokach William O. Swan Dumitru Teodorescu Mæ Turner John Wales, III Robert E. Ward (62)

May 1972

INTER-OFFICE CORRESPONDENCE

TO Dr. Robert Hopkins, Dana School of Music

DATE May 10, 1972

FROM Dr. Esther Niemi, Chairman of Senate Executive Committee . 1.

SUBJECT Special Events Subcommittee for 1972-1973.

I apologize for the error I made in transmitting the membership of the Special Events Subcommittee to Miss Jenkins. I did not include your name as a member of this subcommittee, but you are a member of the subcommittee, based on the approval of your appointment at the joint meeting of the Administrative Council and the Senate Executive Committee held April 25th.

Miss Jenkins will rectify my error by including your name as a member of the Special Events Subcommittee when she retypes and redistributes the list of members on Senate Standing Committees for the 1972-1973 academic year.

Again, my apologies.

CC: Dr. Daniel O'Neill, Chairman of Special Events Subcommittee
 Members of Senate Executive Committee
 Members of Administrative Council
 Miss Jenkins, Secretary of the Senate

TO: UNIVERSITY SENATE MEMBERS

FROM: FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

RE: FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE PROPOSAL ON LOSS OF TENURE

At the adjourned meeting of the University Senate on May 19, (to be held in the SCHWEBEL AUDITORIUM at 4:00 p.m.), discussion of the Faculty Affairs Committee Proposal on Loss of Tenure will be resumed. Before adjournment, sentiment was expressed for recommittal to the Faculty Affairs Committee.

LET US REVIEW::

Since 1967, one F.A.C. after another has worked on Tenure and Loss of Tenure proposals.

In 1969-70 the F.A.C. devoted most of the year to formulation of Tenure Proposals, some of which were adopted,

In 1970-71 the F.A.C. devoted the entire year to a Loss of Tenure Proposal (including the Appeals Committee Proposal which was adopted).

In 1971-72 the F.A.C. has devoted a large portion of its time to the present Loss of Tenure Proposal.

It is true that the present, 1972, proposal differs from the 1971 proposal —— as no doubt the 1973 proposal would differ from the 1972 proposal: each new committee has new members and new ideas. The F.A.C. can continue in this way almost indefinitely, (pausing from time to time, for memorial services for those who have spent their lives voting for Loss of Tenure Proposals), unless, perchance, the F.A.C. arrives at the perfect proposal,

I urge you to resist the temptation to recommit!

Bring on your Amendments!

Talk with your colleagues. Come prepared with specific amendments, to counter specific deficiencies in the present proposal.

Get this problem OUT of committee, not eternally IN it,

CHRISTINE DYKEMA
CHAIRMAN
FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

BALLOT FOR SENATE COMMITTEE ON CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS (VOTE FOR A TOTAL OF NOT MORE THAN 3)

	FRANK A.	FORTUNA	TO			
	_CLYDE T.	HANKEY				
	_JAMES LAI	RENE				
	_CASPER J.	. MOORE,	JR			
WILLIAM D. MOORHEAD						
	_FRANK J.	TARANTI	NE			

NOTE: This ballot is to be returned in the envelope enclosed (SEALED) with your name written and printed on the slip that is taped to the envelope.

Please return this to Vera Jenkins, Secretary of the Senate Mailroom Box #457 by MONDAY, MAY 22, 1972 at 4:30 p.m.

NO BALLOTS WILL BE COUNTED IF RECEIVED AFTER THAT TIME.

BALLOT!

FOR REPRESENTATIVE-AT-LARGE MEMBER

OF

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE SENATE
(VOTE FOR NOT MORE THAN 1)

CHRISTINE	R.	DYKEMA				
DONALD E.	HOY	ÆY				
MATTHEW SIMAN						

(The above is for a 3-year term).

NOTE: This ballot is to be returned in the envelope enclosed (SEALED) with your name written and printed on the slip that is taped to the envelope,

Please return this to Vera Jenkins - Secretary of the Senate - Mailroom Box #457 - by MONDAY. MAY 22. 1972 at 4:30 p.m.

NO BALLOTS WILL BE COUNTED IF RECEIVED AFTER THAT TIME.