Earl Edgar Vice President, Academic Affairs

> MINUTES ACADEMIC SENATE May 30, 1979

RECEIVED OCT 23 1979 DR. EARL E. EDGAR VICE PRESIDENT FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

ATTENDANCE (See Attached List)

CALL TO ORDER

After establishing that there was a quorum present, Dr. Jean Kelty, chairperson of the Senate, called the meeting to order at 4:10.

Dr. Kelty asked for a motion to approve her choices of Larry Esterly as Parliamentarian and Susan Mason as Secretary of the Senate for the Academic Year 1979-80. It was so moved and seconded. Approved.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes of the May 18, 1979 meeting were approved as distributed.

REPORT OF CHARTER AND BYLAWS COMMITTEE

Dr. Smith reported. In response to the question raised at the last Senate meeting, Charter and ByLaws has considered the question of the advisability of having the Events Committee determine the Honors participants, and they believe that ByLaw 6, Section 2(b) clearly indicates that the Academic Events Committee's charge is limited to the event and that changes in Honors policy lie within the province of Academic Affairs. They also recommend that policies that are in force with regard to this should be stated in the catalogue, which they are not at present.

REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE -- none

REPORT OF THE ELECTIONS AND BALLOTING COMMITTEE

No member of Elections and Balloting was present, so Dr. Kelty announced the election results. Jean Kelty has been elected Chairman of the Senate and Glorianne Leck Vice-Chairman of the Senate. Elected to Charter and ByLaws were Larry Esterly, Stephen Hanzely, and Donald Hovey.

REPORTS OF OTHER SENATE COMMITTEES

Dr. Kelty indicated that the reports from other Senate committees consisted in part of the Course Proposals from the Curriculum Committee, about which she presumed there were no questions, and a yearly report from the Student Affairs Committee. The chairman of that committee was not present, and the Senate raised no questions.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Dr. Edgar reported on the Labor Studies issue of the last meeting. Dr. Beelen and he met and discussed the problem and arrived at a conclusion that was satisfactory. The name and number of course 501, Introduction to Organized Labor, will be retained, but the description will be changed so that the course is clearly an introduction to the entire program. Course 502 will be entitled History of the Labor Movement and will be identical to History 502. Since this involves some changes in curriculum matters, the proposed solution has started through the regular processes of gaining Senate approval.

NEW BUSINESS -- none

ADJOURNMENT

At 4:17 a motion for adjournment was made, seconded, and carried.

ATTENDANCE ACADEMIC SENATE May 30, 1979

Arts and Sciences

Everette Abram Christopher Bache George Beelen Dean Brown Irwin Cohen Janet DelBene Sally Hotchkiss Margaret Moore Gratia Murphy Joan Phillip Gary Salvner Agnes Smith Elizabeth Staudt Christopher Sweeney Ronald Tabak Allen Viehmeyer

School of Engineering

Prakash Damshala Wade Driscoll Philip Munro

Business Administration

James Daley Inez Gross Mervin Kohn R.J. Shuster Jane Simmons

School of Education

Peter Baldino Fred Feitler Louis Hill Glorianne Leck George Levitsky

Fine and Performing Arts

Elaine Juhasz Daniel O'Neill David Robinson Virginia Shale

Applied Science and Technology

William Barsch Mary Beaubien Ronald Ciminero Gail Hedrick Mary Sebestyen James Zupanic

Administrative

William Binning Lawrence Cummings Earl Edgar Charles McBriarty William McGraw Leon Rand Edmund Salata Bernard Yozwiak

Student Members

Michael Anderson William P. Cooper Kerry Paulin