MINUTES

Academic Affairs Committee

Youngstown State University

January 25, 1971

Date: Friday, January 22, 1971 at 2:00 PM in ASO Conference Room.

Present: E. Niemi, T. Miner, E. Eminhizer, R. Hare, F. Smith, Dean Scriven, V. Richley, G. Hungerford

Absent: F. Fortunato, G. Overby, M. Siman, G. Spiro, L. Simko, T. Brachfeld

- 1. Chairman T. Miner called the meeting to order at 2:05 PM and asked for corrections to the minutes of the last meeting, (December 4, 1970). Hearing none, the minutes were approved as distributed.
- 2. T. Miner called attention to Dean R.K. Smith's request concerning faculty attendance at professional conferences. The memo from the H&PE faculty concerning same was discussed at some length. Questions were raised concerning committee authority to bring action on a matter of this kind. Committee sentiments were summed by approval of the following motion by R. Hare and E. Niemi.

"The Academic Affairs Committee endorses the concept of faculty professional development through attendance (participation) at professional conferences. It also recognizes the prime faculty responsibility of meeting regularly scheduled classroom needs. It therefore recommends that University policy concerning faculty attendance at professional meetings be interpreted in the most flexible manner possible and that Deans be given broad discretion in making this interpretation."

3. Discussion next centered on L. Simko's suggestions that students making the Dean's list (3.4 Q.P.A.) be awarded a free audit. Much favorable discussion followed, with the note however, that there would probably be very few

MINUTES

Academic Affairs Committee

January 25, 1971

-Page 2-

students involved and that the mechanism for allowing such an audit needed serious consideration. V. Richley suggested that Dean Scriven prepare a statement describing a possible mechanism as a prelude to further committee action.

- 4. The next meeting was set for January 29, 1971, at 2:00 PM in the ASO Conference Room.
- 5. Meeting adjourned at 3:20 PM.

Respectfully Submitted,

V. Richley, Secretary

VR:js

cc: E. Niemi, E. Eminhizer, F. Fortunato, R. Hare, T. Miner, G. Overby, V. Richley, M. Siman, F. Smith, A. Spiro, T. Brachfeld, G. Hungerford, L. Simko, Vice-President Edgar, F. D'Isa, Dean Scriven, President Pugsley, Mrs. Schnuttgen