Youngstown State University News Service Youngstown, Ohio 44555 Telephone 742-1704

FOR RELEASE:

IMMEDIATE

Mailed: March 9, 1987

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio - Sixteen faculty members at Youngstown State University have been granted faculty improvement leaves during the 1987-88 academic year, Dr. Neil D. Humphrey, president, announced.

Under provisions of the YSU-Ohio Education Association agreement, such leaves are approved to further a faculty member's education, to carry on research, or to secure appropriate professional experience. The purpose of the leave is to enhance the faculty member's performance in teaching, research, scholarship and university service.

Approved for three quarter leaves:

Donald R. Arnett, Lowellville, associate professor, Mechanical Engineering

Dr. John J. Buoni, Boardman, professor, Mathematical and Computer Sciences

Dr. Lawrence Hugenburg, Youngstown, associate professor, Speech Communication and Theatre

Dr. George P. Kulchytsky, Parma, professor, History

Dr. Edward J. Largent, Boardman, associate professor, Music

Dr. Joseph May, Warren, associate professor, History

Richard C. Mitchell, East Palestine, professor, Art

Dr. Pietro Pascale, Pulaski, Pa., professor, Foundations of Education

Dr. Richard C. Phillips, Austintown, professor, Chemistry

Dr. Eugene S. Santos, Canfield, professor, Mathematical and Computer Sciences

Dr. David T. Stephens, Salem, associate professor, Geography

Dr. Peter W. Von Ostwalden, Poland, professor, Chemistry

Dr. Joseph A. Waldron, Canfield, associate professor, Criminal Justice

Dr. John Wilkinson, Hubbard, associate professor, English

Approved for one quarter leaves:

Dr. Ahalya Krishnan, Boardman, professor, Psychology

Dr. Renee D. Linkhorn, Boardman, professor, Poreign Languages

#

NEWS SERVICE_SC 86-396 1a,d

Youngstown State University News Service Youngstown, Ohio 44555 Telephone 742-1704

FOR RELEASE:

IMMEDIATE

Mailed: March 9, 1987

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio - Sixteen faculty members at Youngstown State University have been granted faculty improvement leaves during the 1987-88 academic year, Dr. Neil D. Humphrey, president, announced.

Under provisions of the YSU-Ohio Education Association agreement, such leaves are approved to further a faculty member's education, to carry on research, or to secure appropriate professional experience. The purpose of the leave is to enhance the faculty member's performance in teaching, research, scholarship and university service.

Approved for three quarter leaves:

Donald R. Arnett, Lowellville, associate professor, Mechanical Engineering

Dr. John J. Buoni, Boardman, professor, Mathematical and Computer Sciences

Dr. Lawrence Hugenburg, Youngstown, associate professor, Speech Communication and Theatre

Dr. George P. Kulchytsky, Parma, professor, History

Dr. Edward J. Largent, Boardman, associate professor, Music

Dr. Joseph May, Warren, associate professor, History

Richard C. Mitchell, East Palestine, professor, Art

Dr. Pietro Pascale, Pulaski, Pa., professor, Foundations of Education

Dr. Richard C. Phillips, Austintown, professor, Chemistry

Dr. Eugene S. Santos, Canfield, professor, Mathematical and Computer Sciences

Dr. David T. Stephens, Salem, associate professor, Geography

Dr. Peter W. Von Ostwalden, Poland, professor, Chemistry

Dr. Joseph A. Waldron, Canfield, associate professor, Criminal Justice

Dr. John Wilkinson, Hubbard, associate professor, English

Approved for one quarter leaves:

Dr. Ahalya Krishnan, Boardman, professor, Psychology

Dr. Renee D. Linkhorn, Boardman, professor, Foreign Languages

#

NEWS SERVICE_SC 86-396 1a,d

Youngstown State University News Service Youngstown, Ohio 44555 Telephone 742-1704

FOR RELEASE:

IMMEDIATE

Mailed March 9, 1987

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio - Three state legislators will participate in a mock legislative hearing from 1 to 2 p.m. Friday (March 13) at Youngstown State University.

A group of YSU undergraduate medical students have investigated a community health problem, and will present the problem and a proposed solution to the panel, according to Dr. Vivien Carver, assistant professor of Health and Physical Education.

Taking part in the mock hearing in Room 2036 of Kilcawley Center will be State Reps. Ronald V. Gerberry of Austintown (D-71st District), Robert Hagan of Youngstown (D-53rd), and Joseph Vukovich III of Poland (D-52nd).

###

NEWS SERVICE 86-397

EDITOR'S NOTE: For more information, contact Dr. Vivien Carver, Health & Physical Education, 742-1896).