## HISTORICAL OUTLINE OF YOUNGSTOWN STATE UNIVERSITY

- 1868 Beginnings of the Youngstown YMCA
- 1869 Dana Musical Institute founded in Warren (Moved to Youngstown and affiliated with Youngstown College in 1941)
- 1888 First classes begun at YMCA
- 1908 School of Law of the Youngstown Association School, sponsored by the Young Men's Christian Associational School
- 1920 School of Law of the Youngstown Association School empowered by the state of Ohio to grant the degree of Bachelor of Laws.

The Y.M.C. Associational School introduced a four-year course in Business Administration.

1921 Name of Y.A. School changed to Youngstown Institute of Technology.

Liberal arts classes offered in the evenings.

- 1927 College of Arts and Sciences, offering daytime classes for the first time, was established.
- 1928 Youngstown Institute of Technology changed its name to Youngstown College.
- 1930 College confers B.A. degree for the first time.
- 1931 Dr. Howard Jones became President of Youngstown College.

Jones Hall (formerly called main building) occupied by Youngstown College.

- 1941 Dana Musical Institute affiliated with Youngstown College (founded in Warren 1869) as Dana Music School.
- 1944 YMCA transferred control to the Corporation of Youngstown College
- 1945 Youngstown College accredited by North Central Association
- 1946 Engineering Department became William Rayen School of Engineering
- 1948 Business Administration Department became School of Business Administration

- 1952 Library building completed
- 1953 Tod Hall completed
- 1955 Youngstown College rechartered as the Youngstown University
- 1959 Science building completed
- 1960 Department of Education became School of Education
- 1966 Albert L. Pugsley became President of Youngstown University Kilcawley Student Center completed
- 1967 Youngstown University became Youngstown State University Ward Beecher Hall completed
- 1968 Engineering Science Building opened.

Graduate School established

Technical and Community College (renamed the College of Applied Sciences and Technology in 1976)

1972 Beeghly Physical Education Center completed

YSU became member of Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine.

- 1973 Dr. John Coffelt became President of YSU
- 1974 College of Fine and Performing Arts established
- 1976 New library building (Maag library) opened. C.A.S.T. building opened.
- 1977 (fall) Bliss Hall (Fine and Performing Arts Center) to open.
- 1978 The new Arts and Sciences office and classroom building to open.

GROWTH OF YOUNGSTOWN UNIVERSITY:

1930 300 students

1940's 2,000 students

1950's 6,000 students

1960's 10,000 students

## COMPARISON OF STUDENTS BY FIELD OF STUDY:

	1967	1976
College of Arts and Sciences	4,170	3,320
Business Administration	3,998	2,791
School of Education	3,181	1,445
Engineering	1,623	1,055
Dana (Fine and Performing Arts)	256	848
Graduate		1,855
Applied Science & Technology		4,584
TOTAL ENROLLMENT	13,228	15,898