## MINUTES

## ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

## YOUNGSTOWN STATE UNIVERSITY

## DATE: Monday, April 14, 1969, at 4:00 P.M., in Central Hall, Room No. 2.

- PRESENT: Chairman Behen, Prof. Alleman, Prof. Botty, Dr. Bridgham, Dr. Chrisp, Dr. Dillon, Prof. Fortunato, Dr. Hare, Dr. Richley.
- ABSENT: Vice-President Coffield, Dean Edgar.
  - 1. Chairman Behen called the meeting to order at 4:05 P.M.
  - 2. The minutes of the last meeting (April 7, 1969) were approved with the addition of Dean Edgar and Dr. Bridgham to the list of those present. These two members were at the previously announced meeting place but were unaware of a last minute change in the meeting place.
  - 3. Discussion next centered about the policy of allowing a senior only two-thirds(2/3) credit in a 500-level course. Following Chairman Behen's presentation of background information on this point, Prof. Botty moved, Dr. Dillon seconded and it was unanimously agreed that

"the two-thirds rule in question (as stated in the 1968-69 YSU Catalog, page 49, left column, next-to-last paragraph. last sentence) be deleted."

That sentence is repeated here for clarity and convenience.

"A senior taking a 500-level course will receive only two-thirds of the normal credit for it, unless the chairman of his major department and the Dean of the University waive the rule."

4. The matter of the eligibility of certain categories of transfer students for honors was next considered. Prof. Fortunate moved, Dr. Chrisp seconded and it was unanimously agreed that

> "the policy stated in the last sentence on page 52 of the 1968-69 Catalog-'No transfer student admitted to the University on probation is eligible for honors'be deleted immediately and that consequences of this deletion be considered relative to those honors awarded henceforth."

- 5. The next meeting was set for April 21, 1969, at 4:00 P.M. in Central Hall, Room No. 2.
- 6. The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 P.M.

Victor A. Richley Recorder

VAR:ams cc President Pugsley Dean Coffield Dean Edgar Prof. Alleman Dr. Behan Prof. Botty Dr. Bridgham Dr. Chrisp Dr. Dillon Prof. Fortunato Dr. Hare Prof. Niemi Mrs. Schnuttgen