Youngstown State University News Service Youngstown. Ohio 44555 Telephone 742-1704

FOR RELEASE:

HOLD FOR RELEASE ON FRIDAY, MAY 29, 1987

Mailed May 27, 1987

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio - The third annual Awards Night was held at Youngstown State University at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, May 28, in Kilcawley Center's Chestnut Room.

Philip Hirsch of Youngstown, director of Student Activities/Auxiliary Services, addressed the group which had gathered to honor students, student organizations and advisors.

Also assisting in presentation of awards were Dr. Neil Humphrey of Poland, University president; Dr. Charles McBriarty of Boardman, vice president-Student Services; and Joe Smaltz of Niles, owner/operator of Arby's Talleyrand, Inc.

Those receiving awards were selected from 95 nominees by a committee that included two students and representatives from the YSU Alumni Association, Student Activities Office, and Minority Student Services. Faculty recommendations accompanied nominations for several of the top awards.

Awards were given as follows:

The Luke N. Zacarro Memorial Award for outstanding service to the students of YSU - Mary Ann Echols of Youngstown, director of Special Student Services.

Orion Awards for three outstanding student organizations—Alpha Delta Sigma, the Non-Traditional Student Organization, and the YSU Centurians, Gina Tenney Memorial Scholarship Award—Gail S. Sickafuse of Canfield, the Alumni Involvement Awards—Howard C. Rempes, Jr., Boardman, Class of '38, and Edward D. Stizza of Rochester Hills, Mich., Class of '60.

Special Student Services Awards for outstanding commitment and participation in Student Services activities -- Robert L. Dove of Canfield, assistant football coach, and Dr. Jane Simmons, Youngstown, Marketing Department.

The Constellation Award for the outstanding University-wide program/event-Alpha Mu Marketing Club's "Career Night;" Alpha Delta Sigma Advertising Club's
"Career Connection '87;" and the Organization for Women's Equality's "Women's
History Week."

The Nova Award for outstanding new student organization—Substance Abuse Awareness and Support Group; Libra Awards for Outstanding Student Organization Advisor—Dr. Martin Berger of Youngstown, History Department; Dr. James P. Lalumia, Youngstown, Speech Communication; Professor William Petrych, Boardman, Accounting and Finance; and Dr. Jane Simmons.

Arby's Leadership Scholarships--Phillip Commins, Youngstown; Glorian M. Duricy, Niles; Amy L. Otley, Youngstown; Marvin Robinson, Youngstown, president of Student Government; Carol Sorenson, Poland; Vicki Spiritos, Campbell; and Patricia Thompson, Youngstown.

YSU Pins--Christine Alexander, Youngstown; Annette M. Castor, Girard; Gary Jolly, Youngstown; John M. Lisko, Campbell; and Melissa A. Wilthew, Austintown.

Program and Activities Council Awards--"Flying Circus Homecoming '86," opening ceremony, Christine Alexander, chair; "Chiller Week II," Mainstage Committee and Promotion Committee, Carol Sorenson and Roseann Montanary, chairs; "YSU Bridal Show," Karen Stewart, chair; Most Original Program Award--"Beatlemania at YSU," Vicki Spiritos, chair.

Student Government Service Awards--Donald R. Bryant, Youngstown; Gary P. Caylor, Liberty; Michelle Donnelly, Youngstown. Student Government Exemplary Service Award--Kevin J. Kern, Youngstown, and Dr. Edna Neal, Youngstown, executive assistant, vice president-Student Services.

In addition, 64 students received recognition for Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

The YSU Annual Awards Banquet is sponsored to recognize and encourage student involvement in University life.