## UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING May 3, 1963

PRESENT: Mr. Dykema, Mr. Carson, Mr. Behen, Mr. Allan, Mr. Powers, Mr. Hahn, Mr. Richardson, Mr. Wilcox, Mr. Dehnbostel, Mrs. Dehnbostel, Mr. Aurand, Mr. G. Jones, Mr. Elser, Mr./Evans, Mr. Harris, Miss Sterenberg, Mrs. Botty, Mrs. Bridgham, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Paraska, Mr. Cernica, Mr. Fisher, Mr. Gillespie, Mr. Bestor, Mr. Sorokach, Mr. D'Isa, Mr. Dillon, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Ellis, Mr. Clark, Mr. Yozwiak, Mr. M. Evans, Mrs. Dykema, Mr. Smith.

President Jones called for nominations for member of the Executive Committee and read the bylaws governing nomination and election. Mr. Cohen recommended that since Mr. Miner had served only four years he be re-elected for a six year term. Mr. Hahn felt this was contrary to the bylaws. Mr. Dykema nominated Mr. Harder to replace Mr. Miner. Mr. Wilcox moved that we interpret the bylaws to mean that anyone who has not served the six year term is eligible for re-election. Seconded. Motion carried with Mr. Hahn dissenting. Mr. Cohen nominated Mr. Miner. Seconded. Mr. Dykema nominated Mr. Harder. Seconded. Mr. Edward Reilly nominated. Seconded.

The chairman appointed Mr. Carson and Mr. Behen as tellers.

The President appointed Mr. Jones, Mr. Dykema, Mr. Richardson on the Foreign Language Examination Committee.

The Chairman brought to the attention of the committee unfinished business of credit by examination. Mr. Dykema moved that this matter be returned to the Academic Standards Committee for reconsideration. Mr. Cernica seconded. After discussion, motion was carried unanimously.

The tellers reported a tie vote to the chairman. The senate was instructed to revote on Mr. Reilly and Mr. Harder. The second vote resulted in the election of Mr. Edward Reilly to the Executive Committee for a six year term, replacing Mr. Miner.

Mr. Behen made the announcement for Mrs. Smith that pre-registration will close as of this evening. However, next Wednesday stragglers will be taken care of.

President Jones announced Baccalaureate Services May 26 and Commencement on the 28th. He requested the presence of all fulltime faculty members and any of the part-time faculty that wishes to attend. He noted there were 937 graduating seniors, and each is alloted three seats. He particularly urged that the faculty attend Baccalaureate Services since the crowd has not been too good. When our graduating class gets up to 1000, we will probably have to consider a separate commencement for those not finishing in June.

A motion by Mr. Behen that the Senate express their appreciation to the Secretary for her efficient services was carried unanimously.

ATTENDANCE SHEET May 3, 1963

Please sign: 🦏 3 Courson M. P. Allan L. Pavers J.M. Wicegx 6. At Tur Elizabeth Sterenberg Carkining M. Bradgles es Mae Turner

Cercia W Fisher I for Dillon B. J. Yozwiak

To - All Full Service Faculty

The following are the elected members of the University Senate for 1963-64:

LIBERAL ARTS	ENG INEER ING	BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
Baker, W. Bridgham, C. Clark, F. Cohen, I. Dehnbostel, R. Dykema, C. Elser, D. Evans, C. Hahn, P. Harder, K. Ives, D. Mavrigian, G. Miner, T. Nelson, W. Niemi, E. Roberts, S. I. Slavin, M. Sterenberg, E. Worley, I. Yozwiak, B.	Goncz, J. Paraska, N. Shadduck, H. Solomon, M. Vojtko, B.  EDUCATION  Braden, M. Christopher, C. A. Wilcox, G.  MUSIC  Campbell, R. A.	Braden, F. Browne, M. Chuey, P. Jenkins, V. Kermani, T. Lengyel, L. Long, J. Painter, C.

## FXOFFICIO MEMBERS

LWOLL TOTO LIBRIDIARD		
President Jones	Carson, W. B.	Naberezny, J. M.
Dean Smith	Cernica, J. N.	Reilly, E. T.
Dean Gillespie	Dehnbostel, N.	Richardson, L. T.
Dean Painter	D'Isa, F. A.	Riley, B. T.
Dean Dykema	Ellis, F. M.	Scudder, E. D.
Dean Swartz	Feldmiller, I.	Turner, Mae
Dean Charignon	Fisher, E. J. P.	Worley, C. L.
Dean Miller	Flad, W. S.	
Dean Aurand	Jones, G. H. G.	
P. C. Pickard	Klasovsky, M.	
	Kramer, R. E.	
Behen, D. M.	Lucas, Reverend	
Bestor, R. J.	Luginbill, P. C.	
Botty, P. E.	Malak, F. J.	
Boyer, I.	Mayer, W. E.	
Browne, McKinley	Miner, W.	