MINUTES UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING May 1, 1964

PRESENT: Mr. Mavrigian, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Cernica, Mrs. Worley, Mrs. Bridgham, Mrs. Dehnbostel, Mr. Dehnbostel, Mr. Miller, Mr. Yozwiak, Mr. Reilly, Mr. Kermani, Mr. Richardson, Mr. Painter, Mrs. Painter, Mr. Clark, Mr. Swartz, Mr. Christopher, Mr. Flad, Mr. Mayer, Mr. Hahn, Fr. Lucas, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Naberezny, Mr. Klasovsky, Mr. Charignon, Mr. Aurand, Mr. Campbell, Mr. D'Isa, Mr. Shadduck, Mr. Paraska, Mr. Fisher, Mr. Kramer, Mr. Vojtko, Mr. Baker, Miss Sterenberg, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Luginbill, Mr. Wilcox, Mr. Scudder, Mr. Fvans, Mr. Ellis, Mr. G. Jones, Mr. Powers, Mrs. Miner, Mr. Ives, Mr. Gillespie, Col. Bestor, Mr. Browne, Mr. Miner, Mr. Dykema, Miss Jenkins, Dean Smith.

PRESIDING: Dr. Jones.

~ { ;

This is the last formal meeting of the Senate for the school year 1963-64.

Mr. Ives referred to the parking situation on the campus. Increasing complaints have been received about finding parking places in the morning and evening hours. It is something that needs attention.

A motion was made that a faculty committee be appointed to work with the Business Manager regarding the parking situation on the campus. Motion seconded and passed unanimously.

Two faculty members volunteered to serve on this committee: Mr. Ives and Mr. Flad.

Colonel Bestor announced that in order to help motivate the students in the Cadet Corps, R.O.T.C. will institute a system whereby Cadets who have an excellent over-all academic average will be presented an emblem to be worn on uniforms.

Mr. Clark reminded Senate members about turning in their ballots on the proposed changes on Constitution and Bylaws.

Dr. Smith discussed the objectives of Youngstown University. He read the objectives from the new 1964-65 catalog and asked for a general discussion. In the discussion it was brought out strongly that each faculty member should ask himself: What have I been trying to do? Have I been helping to carry out these objectives? Are they decent objectives for an institution like ours? Dean Smith asked that the departments turn in their objectives showing how they relate to the general objectives of the University.

Dr. Jones stated a committee has been studying the relationship between full-time and part-time faculty. The committee consists of: Mr. Dykema, Mr. Hann, Mr. Einstein, Mr. Shipman, Mr. D'Isa.

Mr. Pickard reported on a study of fulltime and part-time faculty. In his report he stated that 80-90% of the work is taught by fulltime faculty members. Many of the part-time teachers teach only one subject.

Dean Aurand reminded the group that Honors Day is Tuesday, May 5, at 2 p.m.

Vera Jenkins SECRETARY PRO TEM

Ĺ

To - All Full Service Faculty

r

(

l

1

L

Following are the elected members of the University Senate for 1964-65 and the ex-officio members:

LIBERAL ARTS	BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION	FDUCATION
Bridgham, C. Clark, F. Cohen, I. Crites, H. Dillon, T. Dykema, C. Elser, D. Gay, T. Hahn, P. Ives, D. Mavrigian, G. Miner, T. Nelson, W. Niemi, E. Roberts, S.I. Skardon, A. Slavin, M. Sterenberg, E. Worley, I. Yozwiak, B.	Braden, F. Browne, M. Chuey, P. Evans, E. M. Hanks, W. Jenkins, V. Kermani, T. Painter, C. <u>ENGINEFRING</u> Arnett, C. Chrobak, T. Petrek, J. Ritter, J. Siman, M.	Braden, M. Clayman, C. Chrisp, M. Wilcox, G. <u>MUSIC</u> Campbell, R.
EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS		
President Jones Dean Smith Dean Gillespie Dean Painter Dean Dykema Dean Swartz Dean Charignon Dean Miller Dean Aurand P. C. Pickard Behen, D. M. Bestor, R. J. Botty, P. E. Boyer, I. Browne, McKinley	Carson, W. B. Cernica, J. N. Dehnbostel, N. D'Isa, F. ^A . Ellis, F. M. Evans, C. Feldmiller, I. Fisher, E. J. P. Flad, W. S. Jones, G. H. G. Klasovsky, M. Kramer, R. E. Lucas, Rev. J. Luginbill, P. C. Malak, F. J. Mayer, W. E.	Miner, W. Naberezny, J. M. Powers, W. L. Reilly, E. T. Richardson, L. T. Riley, B. T. Scudder, E. D. Turner, M.

Edna J. Pickard, Secretary