## MINULES UNIVERSITY SUNATE MEETING April 1, 1966

PRESENT: Mr. Shipman, Mr. Hahn, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Mavrigian, Miss Feldmiller, Mr. Powers, Miss Jewett, Mrs. Breden, Mr. Braden, Mr. Naberozny, Mr. Ellis, Mr. Hanks, Mr. Dillon, Mr. Luginbill, Mrs. Turner, Mr. Crites, Mr. Mayer, Mr. Riley, Mr. Ritter, Mr. Cernica, Mr. Paraska, Mr. Gillespie, Mr. Wales, Mr. Hankey, Mr. Tarantine, Mr. Behen, Mr. Skardon, Mr. VanZandt, Mr. Berquist, Mr. von Ostwalden, Mr. Scudder, Mrs. Entdgham, Mr. Kermani, Mr. Teodorescu, Mrs. Dehnbostel, Mr. Dehnbostel, Miss Jenkins, Miss Pfau, Mrs. Reilly, Mr. Miller, Mr. Richardson, Miss Sterenberg, Mrs. Smith, Mr. Ives, Mr. Jones, Mr. Yozwiak, Mr. Carcon, Mrs. Mackall, Mrs. Botty, Miss Laborde, Mr. Kiriazis, Dean Smith.

Dean Smith presided at the moeting in the absence of President Jones.

Mr. Behen, Chairman of the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws, presented the following amendments to the Bylaws:

Bylaw VI, Section 3.

Now reads: Reports of the committees.

Amended: Reports of the committees. All reports of committees of the Faculty submitted to the Senate pursuant to Article V, Section 2 of the Constitution, shall be circulated to the full membership of the Senate at least three days prior to presentation unless the President rules otherwise.

The Senate shall determine to which of the Senate committees the above procedure shall apply.

Motion to amend made by Mr. Behen, seconded by Mr. Naberezny, and passed.

Bylaw VI, Section 5.

Now reads: New business.

Amended: New business.

When any motion arising under New Basiness is brought before the Senate, after the period of debate and on call for the Question, the President shall first ask he a vote is desired at this meeting. If response of a majority of those voting is affirmative, the question shall be put in customary fashion; if negative, vote shall be postponed to the following meeting of the Senate or to such other meeting as the President shall direct. Exceptions: a motion to recess, a motion to adjourn and any other motion ruled by the President to be pro forma.

Motion to amend made by Mr. Behen, seconded by Mr. Dillon, and passed.

Mr. Ives moved to amend the preceding motion to read, "or to such other meeting as the President and Senate shall direct." Motion defeated.

#### Curriculum Committee Report

Dean Smith reported that the Curriculum Committee, Academic Standards Committee, and others have been discussing a proposal to handle freshmen who rank in the lower third of their high school classes. A special committee consisting of Mrs. Smith, Mr. Dykema, and Mr. Roberts has been appointed to recommend a program. Mrs. Smith discussed some of the things this committee has been considering. An official report will be presented to the Curriculum Committee and in turn to the Senate.

Doan Smith reported that full-time freshman applicants as of April 1 total 2751 compared with 1183 on the same date a year ago.

## Circle K Club

Dean Smith read a letter telling of the awards received by the Circle K Club at their recent State Convention in Delaware, Chio. They were awarded first place in the achievement contest, first place in the oratory contest, second place in the scrapbook contest, and the title of Best Club in the State for the second consecutive year. In addition, Harry E. Watson, a member of the Youngstown Club, Was elected Governor of the Ohio District for the coming year. Mr. Hahn moved, seconded by Mrs. Botty, that the Sonate take official recognition of Circle K and that the secretary be instructed to write a letter of recognition. Motion approved unanimously.

### Registration

Mrs. Smith announced that permits for registration will be issued beginning April 11. Registration for summer and fall will be held from April 18 to May 7 for students now in school. An advance payment system for those who wish to take advantage of it will again be used.

Mrs. Smith also announced that instructions for taking the Selective Service Qualifications Test will be handed out in the registration line on April 11.

The meeting was then adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Joann Powell, Secretary

W.A. Shipman Chilip getahn W. J. Nelso G. MANRIGIAN Jopan Feldmille William L. Jawes Mary & Jewett A Brade Yand M. Brad In naberlymy M. Ellis Mh. Hanks Then Willin Paul & Inquilel Mae D. Lurner Starold Cretes Watter E mayer Bruce T. Filey Jon Ritler & Hiplespie lelyde Hankey Frank larantine

SENATE MEETING April 1, 1966 alum Shardon Your South Donold K Berguin Fetor Widon Ostwalden. T. D. Sudter Carkenwell, Budgham Taghi Kermani D. Teodojusícic M. Delimiteit R. L. Kelund, TU Vera genkins margant ) I fan Laverne faily Colarthine -Fichardson \* Exterenberg Mary pomith Hourd & Ives Gener Jones 5 Jog wich Marson E. J. quackell 2 Bou

mean Kiriana

April 6, 1966

Mr. James T. McBride President, Circle K Toungstown University Youngstown, Ohio

Dear Mr. McBride:

1

At a meeting of the Faculty Senate on April 1, a motion was passed unanimously to take official recognition of the achievements of the Youngstown University Circle K Club at their recent Ohio Convention.

I therefore take this means of expressing the congratulations of the Senate and appreciation for what your organisation has done for the University and the Community.

Sincerely,

Miss Joann Powell Secretary of the Senate

cc Mr. Painter, Advisor

#### Inter-Club Memo

# rom: James T. McBride President

To:

- Dean Smith Date: Dean of the University
  - March 29, 1966
- Subject: Achievements of the Youngstown University's Circle K Club at the 1965-1966 Ohio District Circle K Convention.

#### Gentlemen:

The Convention was held on the campus of Ohio Wesleyan University in Delaware, Ohio last Saturday and Sunday. Our Club sent 45 representaives on a chartered bus provided by our sponsor, the Downtown Kiwanis Club. Over 131 students and faculty members of other education institutions in the state of Ohio were represented at the convention, and in the words of our faculty advisor, Mr. C.A. Painter, "never before in history the University have so few YU students made so many friends for this University."

Of the four contests offered, our Club received awards in three: First place in the achievement contest; First place in the oratory contest; and Second place in the Scrapbook contest. The First Place award in the achievement contest entitled this Club to the unprecedented title of Best Club in the State for the second consecutive year. In addition, Mr. Harry E. Watson, an RA in the Kilcawley ind a Dean's List student, was elected Governor of the Ohic District for the coming year.

It is important to note that whitout the overwhelming support which we received from the University administration in our attempt to secure the 1967 Convention Bid, the Nineteen-Sixty-Seven Ohio District Convention site would not have been awarded to our Club.

> James T. McBride President

James T. MoBuile