MTHITES UNIVERSITY SENATE MELTING March 4, 1966

PRESENT:

*

Mr. Naberezny, Mr. Dykema, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Hahn, Mr. Powers, Mr. Crites, Mr. Gillespie, Mr. Cress, Mos. Painter, Mrs. Mills, Mr. Evans, Mr. Walter, Mr. Hanks, Mr. Fisher, Mr. Mayer, Mr. Babisch, Miss Sterenberg, Mrs. Turner, Mrs. Bridgham, Mr. Scudder, Mr. Luginbill, Mr. Slavin, Mr. Yozwiak, Mr. von Ostwalden, Mr. Chrobak, Mr. Riley, Mr. Behen, Miss Feldmiller, Mr. Campbell, Mrs. Miner, Mr. Kiriazis, Mr. Mavrigian, Mr. Cernica, Mr. Arnett, Mr. Ritter, Mr. Wales, Mr. Paraska, Mr. Tarantine, Mr. Baker, Mr. Hankey, Mr. Berquist, Mr. Tecdorescu, Mr. VanZandt, Mr. Spiegel, Mr. Richardson, Mr. Ellis, Mrs. Dehnbostel, Mr. Dehnbostel, Miss Jenkins, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Harris, Mr. Jones, Mr. Shipman, Mr. Chrisp, Mrs. Smith, Mrs. Botty, Mr. Miner, Mr. Miller, Mr. Dillon, Dean Smith, President Jones

President Jones presided and called on Mr. Dykema who presented the following report

The Committee on Honorary Degrees, which is made up of the academic deans and the President, recommends the following individuals to receive honorary degrees at the commencements in 1966, the names of the degrees to be determined in consultation with the recipients. The recommendations are based on the dedicated performance by these individuals of services valuable to American society and on their friendship to Youngstown University. Which individuals will receive the degrees in May, which in August will be decided later, and it might be necessary to postpone the bestowal of one of the degrees until a later date.

The names of the nominees are given in alphabetical order below along with their titles and places of residence.

Anthony Flask, Mayor of Youngstown, Youngstown, Ohio

- Perry Epler Gresham, President of Bethany College, Bethany, West Virginia
- Howard Hanson, Director of the Eastman Conservatory of Music of the University of Rochester, Rochester, New York
- Richard L. Krabach, Director of Finance for the State of Ohio, Columbus. Ohio
- William McKee, President of the Economic and Business Foundation. New Wilmington, Pennsylvania

Mr. Dykema moved. seconded by Mrs. Botty, that the Senate accept this report. Motion passed.

President Jones introduced Mr. Cress, Chief of Campus Security, who discussed what is being done with regard to the parking situation for students and faculty. An attempt is being made to make the best use of the limited space available. He urged the faculty to set a good example by following rules that have been established

President Jones announced that a representative of NCATE was here March 3 and 4 for a reappraisal study: Youngstown University will be up for consideration some time this spring or summer.

Mr. Dykema announced that a Youngstown University student had been awarded a Woodrow Wilson Fellowship and one had received honorable mention. He cited figures

for Wabere pm K. DYKEMA Hhen hilips John William L. Power thold littes John P. Gilleiper and N Quin Kimuk Eda Banto margagita Wiels John F. Walter Mr. M. Huntes E In Fisher W. mayer fooys Babian E stevenlierg mae Lumer Catherine he. Bridgham Faul & Laquall m. Alexino B& yozwiak

SENATE MEETING March 4, 1966 Peta Wivon Ostwalden. Theodore Chrobak Ruce I. Siley Behen Jayean Feldmiller Robert Campbell Shelma S. Miner James W. Kuriazio GUS MANRIGIAN John Cernica A. amet m States To Parasha Tarantine William C. Boke Ottaken -Donald & Berguins Jeonopilieu lan Zandt Leonard B. Apiegel L'Mardson

- Mis

relle & Dambrostal Raymond Delinbost Carl Harris Jr. George Jones washipman Marin W Chrisp Paulento E bothy Ward Z. Miner Cobartmelle That Dilla

The Committee on Honorary Degrees, which is made up of the academic deans and the President, recommends the following individuals to receive honorary degrees at the commencements in 1966, the names of the degrees to be determined in consultation with the recipients. The recommendations are based on the dedbated performance by these individuals of services valuable to American society and on their friendship to Youngstown University. Which individuals will receive the degrees in May, which in August will be decided later, and it might be necessary to postpone the bestewal of one of the degrees until a later date.

The names of the nominees are given in alphbetical order below along with their titles and places of residence.

Antheny Flask, Mayor of Youngstewn, Youngstewn, Ohio

- Perry Epler Gresham, President of Bethany College, Bethany, West Virginia
- Howard Hanson, Director of the Eastman Conservatory of Music of the University of Rochester, Rochester, New York
- Richard L. Krabach, Director of Finance for the State of Ohio, Columbus, Ohio
- William McKee, President of the Economic and Business Foundation, New Wilmington, Pennsylvania

4 March 1966

K. W. Dykema for the Committee

MEMORANDUM OF 18, MARCH 1966

TO: MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

The Senate Committee on Constitution and Bylaws will offer motions at the next Senate meeting to revise BYLAW VI as follows:

NOW READS: 3) Reports of the committees

AMENDED: 3) Reports of the committees. All reports of committees of the Faculty submitted to the Senate pursuant of Article V, section 2 of the Constitution, shall be circulated to the full membership of the Senate at least three days prior to presentation unless the President rules otherwise.

The Senate shall determine to which of the Senate committees the above procedure shall apply.

NOW READS: 5) New business

AMENDED: 5) New business When any motion arising under New Business is brought before the Senate, after the period of debate and on call for the Question, the President shall first ask if a vote is desired at this meeting. If response of a majority of those voting is affirmative the question shall be put in customary fashion; if negative, vote shall be postponed to the following meeting of the Senate or to such other meeting as the President shall direct. Exceptions: a motion to recess, a motion to adjourn and any other motion ruled by the President to be pro forma.

These proposals were unanimously approved by your Committee at meetings of 9 and 16 March 1966.

Respectfully submitted,

David M. Behen Chairman