# October 28, 1971

TO: UNIVERSITY SENATE MAMBERS

FROM: VERA JENKINS

Secretary of the Senate

SENATE MEETING: Friday, November 5, 1971 - 4:00 p.m. IN THE ENGINEERING SCIENCE AUDITORIUM (Room 273).

### AGENDA FOR MEETING:

1) Approval of minutes of previous meeting (Friday, October 1, 1971)

- 2) Report of Constitution and Bylaws Committee (David Behen)
- 3) Report of Executive Committee of the Senate (Esther Niemi)
- 4) Report of Academic Affairs Committee (victor Richley)
- 5) Report of Nominating Committee for the Faculty Appeals
  Committee (Casper Moore)
- 6) UNFINISHED BUSINESS
- 7) NEW BUSINESS
- 8) REMARKS BY PRESIDENT PUGSLEY



# YOUNGSTOWN STATE UNIVERSITY

YOUNGSTOWN, OHIO 44503

October 18, 1971

The following faculty members have been nominated for election to the Youngstown State University Faculty Appeals Committee:

#### A. FOR CHAIRMAN:

- 1. E. Terry Deiderick
- 2. Frank Tarantine

## B. MEMBERS:

- 1. Frederick Blue
- 2. Joseph Kirschner
- 3. Thelma Miner
- 4. Roger Overberg
- 5. Esotto Pellegrini
- 6, William Walsh

The Committee shall consist of a Chairman, with the privilege of voting, elected at large for a term of one year; and three other members, elected at large and serving for terms of three years, provided that on the first election the three members shall be elected from a single slate for the terms of 3, 2, or 1 years respectively on the basis of highest number of votes. The Senate Executive Committee shall appoint annually the nominating committee from the full-service faculty members, At least two candidates shall be nominated for each position, and additional candidates shall be included if a petition for their candidacy is signed by a minimum of ten (10) full-service faculty members. No person shall be a candidate for more than one position.

Petitions for candidacy as stated above may be submitted to any member of the Nominating Committee:

#### NAMES:

- 1. William G. Conable -- School of Music
- 2, Theodore S. Chrobak -- Technical and Community College
- 3. Dwight G. Watkins -- School of Education
- 4. Sally Hotchkiss -- Psychology Department
- 5. Casper J. Moore, Jr. School of Business Administration

These Petitions must be submitted by Saturday, October 30, 1971 at 12:00 noon.

Respectfully submitted, NOMINATING COMMITTEE

CASPER J. MOORE, JR.

CHAIRMAN

CJM: VJ



# YOUNGSTOWN STATE UNIVERSITY

YOUNGSTOWN. OHIO 44603

## October 25, 1971

# TO: FULL SERVICE FACULTY IN THE COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES, SCHOOL OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION, AND THE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION

HOM THE NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE

SUBJECT: REQUEST FOR NOMINEES FOR THE (YSU) OHIO FACULTY SENATE ELECTIONS BOARD

The Nominations and Elections Committee (nee, NEC) herein requests <u>nominations</u> from the Full Service Faculty, in <u>each</u> of the Colleges listed above, for the establishment of a three-member Elections Board to serve the needs and interests of the Ohio Faculty Senate (nee, OFS).

Nominations must be submitted in writing, bearing the name of the nominee, and also the individual submitting the nomination, Please forward the nomination no later than Friday, November 5, 1971 at 4:00 p.m. tot Vera Jenkins, Secretary of the Senate, Mailroom Box #457, Youngstown State University.

Serious attention and concern should be exercised by your **submittal**; **explicitly**, that the nominee should be an individual dedicated to serving the **Faculty**, and fulfilling the objectives **set** forth by **OFS**.

NEC has operated on authority of The Executive Committee of the University Senate. Through a mail ballot by the entire Full Service Faculty of Youngstown State University, taken in June 1971, the proposed plan of election to The OFS Elections Board, as shown below, was approved by the vote tally of: 218 for passage and 49 against passage.

### APPROVED PLAN FOR THE OHIO FACULTY SENATE ELECTIONS BOARD

71-72	72-73	73-74	74-75	75-76	76-77	77-78	78-79	79-80	• • • •
[ ]	1	j)	6	6	6	3	3	3	6
2	3	5	5	5	1	1	1.	5	5
3,	4	4	4	2	2	2	4	4	4

CODE:

- 1. Arts and Sciences
- 2. Business Administration
- 3. Education
- 4. Engineering
- 5. Music
- 6 Technical and Community College

NOTE:

**Encircled** numbers indicate first or **initial** appointments to be made.

October 25, 1971

Immediately upon the establishment of a list of nominees, an election will be structured to appoint:

- a) A member of the College of Arts and Sciences to a three (3) year term;
- b) A member of the School of Business Administration to a two (2) year term;
- c) A member of the School of Education to a one (1) year term.

Also, in accordance with the approved plan, for development of The Elections Board, all future appointees to the Board shall serve a three (3) year term.

The membership of The OFS Elections Board shall bear all responsibilities in planning and conducting elections for Faculty Representatives (from Youngstown State University) to The Ohio Faculty Senate. The Board shall also structure the election for future membership to The Board. Thusly, this Board inherits the role served by NEC.

## THE NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE

Theodore S. Chrobak
Melvin P. Mamula
Gus Mavrigian (CHAIRMAN)
Ward L. Miner
John E. Petrek
Juanita Roderick
Fred Rosenberg
Alvin W. Skardon

GM:VJ